Here Are the U.S. States With Travel Restrictions

Travelers arriving on the island of Kauai must quarantine for 14 days even if they have proof of a negative virus test. People arriving elsewhere in the state can avoid a mandatory 14-day quarantine by providing proof of a coronavirus-negative Nucleic Acid Amplification test taken from a list of specific providers within 72 hours of the final leg of the trip. The results must either be uploaded online into a mandatory health form or travelers can bring a hard copy when boarding their flight. Those with pending results must quarantine for 14 days.

In addition to the pre-travel test, the county of Hawaii will randomly select at least 25 percent of travelers for a free second test at the airport, and the visitor must stay at the airport while awaiting the result, usually about 30 minutes. Maui County requires those coming from other parts of the state to provide a negative test 72 hours before departing for Maui County, in order to avoid quarantine. The county also requests the visitors take a free voluntary test 72 hours after arrival. Additional restrictions for travel between counties also exists.

People violating state quarantine requirements face up to a $5,000 fine and up to a year in prison.

As of Dec. 15, there were no statewide restrictions in Idaho.

As of Dec. 15, there were no statewide restrictions in Illinois. However, under an emergency travel order, Chicago has implemented a color-coded system to indicate whether visitors need to obtain a negative coronavirus test or quarantine. The colors — red, orange and yellow — are based on virus levels in other states and how those levels compare to the situation in Chicago. The list is updated every other Tuesday, with the next update expected on Dec. 29.

Those traveling from a “red” state are asked to avoid travel, but if they visit Chicago, they must quarantine for 14 days, or the length of their stay, whichever is shorter. These include Alabama (as of Dec. 18), Alaska, Arizona (as of Dec. 18), Arkansas (as of Dec. 18), California (as of Dec. 18), Colorado, Connecticut (as of Dec. 18), Delaware (as of Dec. 18), Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky (as of Dec. 18), Massachusetts (as of Dec. 18), Minnesota, Mississippi (as of Dec. 18), Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire (as of Dec. 18), New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania (as of Dec. 18), Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee (as of Dec. 18), Utah, West Virginia (as of Dec. 18), Wisconsin and Wyoming.

People from “orange” states are also asked to stay home, but should they visit, they can either quarantine or obtain a negative virus test result no more than 72 hours before their arrival. Those requirements apply to District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Iowa (as of Dec. 18), Louisiana, Maine (as of Dec. 18), Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Texas and Vermont (as of Dec. 18), Virginia and Washington.

Nonessential travel from the “yellow” states is discouraged, but there are no restrictions for travelers from these lower-risk areas, which include only Hawaii.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *